How to take your food from 0 to 10

40202693-6bed-4e04-953f-f62a70913321Let’s be honest when you’re on meal plan foods can get bland… really quick. There is only so much chicken, rice and sweet potatoes you can eat until you need to spice it up. There is no reason to sacrifice you plan with sugar filled condiments like ketchup, BBQ sauce or ranch dressing. I’ve got a few tricks up my sleeve that I’m going to pass on to hopefully help when the time comes and food gets old.

 

#1. Spray Butter

Yes I said butter! Who knew you could have butter right? Well it isn’t exactly butter, but it sure taste like it when it’s been awhile since you’ve had the real stuff. I prefer the I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter brand of spray butter. It comes in a yellow bottle, and cost around $4.00 a bottle. Parkay also has their version of spray butter that you might want to try. Both products are calorie free, and basically only contain a little bit of sodium.

So what to use it on? Honestly you can use it on anything! I really like using spray butter on my ezekiel bread, oatmeal, sweet potatoes and vegetables. The best is toasting your ezekiel bread spraying on some butter, and sprinkling on a little cinnamon and Truvia. Who knew cinnamon sugar toast could be healthy?

 

#2. Walden Farms Condiments

I am convinced Walden Farms was made, packaged and sent down straight from heaven! If you haven’t, you absolutely have to try one of their many condiments! I love, love, love condiments! I am one of those people who always ask for extra dressing at a restaurant, so obviously Walden Farms is right up my alley. I’ve really talked up this product, so I guess I should explain what it is. Walden Farms provides consumers with sugar free, fat free, gluten free and calorie free condiments. Yes people calorie FREE! Now when you think condiments you probably think ketchup, salad dressing and that’s about it. Good news, they have way more to offer! You can pick anything from salad dressings, coffee creamer, jellies and jams, chip dip and even syrup! They have tons of flavors, so you are almost guaranteed to find one you will like.

I will admit Walden Farms is a little pricey, and not many store carry their products. Your best bet of finding it in stores is Walmart, but if you’re willing to wait I would purchase it online. There are a few website I would checkout for price, and see where you can get the best deal. I will leave links at the end in case you’re interested.

So how do I use Walden Farms? I love use some of their salad dressings such as the Honey Dijon and the Raspberry Vinaigrette on my chicken. The coffee creamers are terrific, especially the mocha flavor! If you really want to try something out of this world, pick up a bottle of their pancake syrup, and drizzle that over your ezekial bread or sweet potato! You’ll feel like you’re splurging, but the best part is you’re not!

 

#3. Mrs. Dash Seasoning

For those of you watching your sodium intake then Mrs. Dash is for you! The seasoning brand has a variety of flavors, so you’ll be sure to find something that meets your fancy. Mrs. Dash products are all salt-free, and unlike some spices, calorie free as well. Since you aren’t worrying about blowing your sodium intake, you can use as little or as much as you would like. They are great for seasoning your chicken, ground turkey and ground beef. I always add some Mrs. Dash while I’m cooking, and if it’s not enough I’ll throw some on while I’m eating. The good news is that these seasonings are relatively inexpensive costing around $2.60 per spice.

 

#4. Cayenne Pepper

For those that love spicy, like me, then you’ll love this! Cayenne pepper is far from something new, and can be found at any grocery store. Its very inexpensive, and really heats up your food. I would only recommend this if you really enjoy spicy foods, and use it sparingly! There are some benefits to using cayenne pepper such as its antibacterial properties, antioxidant properties and  it helps support weight loss. If you would like to know more about the health benefits of cayenne pepper here is a link to an article written by Dr. Edward Group. Benefits of Cayenne Pepper: Dr. Edward Group

 

#5.Cinnamon

Again an old spice that has been used for hundreds of years. Of course you can find it at any grocery store, and it too is not an expensive item. Cinnamon, like cayenne pepper, has some health benefits. It has antifungal, antibacterial and antiviral properties. It can help lower your bad cholesterol and might have anti-carcinogenic properties. Cinnamon also has anti-inflammatory, and can help treat chronic headaches and arthritis. If you’re interested in how cinnamon could help you here is a link to better understand the special properties of this spice. Special Properties of Cinnamon

 

#6. G Hughes BBQ Sauce

I love barbeque sauce! I mean LOVE! Unfortunately, barbeque sauce has a high sugar content, which you want to avoid. Thankfully I have many friends in the fitness world who have much more experience than I do, and they have given me a few of their secrets, G Hughes being one of them. G Hughes is a sugar free and gluten free BBQ sauce that was created by an award winning pit master. It does have ten calories per two tablespoons, but that isn’t enough to worry over. It comes in three flavors: hickory, maple brown sugar and honey. Walmart carries the brand, but they no longer sale it in stores. You can order it off their website by single bottles or in bulk.

 

There are other condiments that are meal plan approved such as reduced sugar ketchup and Taco Bell hot sauce, both of which can be bought at walmart. I hope the ones I highlighted give you some delicious options to change thing up. Below I have included links to purchase some of the featured products.

 

Spray Butter

 

Walden Farms

This is the Walden Farms official website, but I would recommend Googling the product you want, and compare prices.

 

G Hughes BBQ Sauce

Leave a Reply

